At the 2024 General Election on November 5th, the positions for Mayor and three Councilor positions will appear on the ballot. The filing period for interested candidates begins on June 5, 2024, and all filing requirements must be completed by 5:00 p.m. on August 27, 2024.


Mayor Currently held by John McArdle Two-year term

Councilor Pos. #3 Currently held by Dawn Roden Four-year term

Councilor Pos. #5 Currently held by Sarah Jobe Four-year term

Councilor Pos. #6 Currently held by Kathy Martin-Willis Four-year term

 All positions are non-partisan.

 Council positions are elected at large, meaning candidates may reside in any area within the city limits of Independence.

 All positions are volunteer/non-paid.

 All terms will begin on January 1, 2025. Swearing in will occur at the first meeting of the City Council on January 14, 2025.


To qualify as a candidate for Mayor or City Councilor, you must be:

 A qualified elector under the laws and Constitution of the State of Oregon, and a registered voter of the City of Independence; and,

 A resident of the City of Independence who has resided continuously within the City during the 12 months immediately preceding the election.

The Independence City Recorder, Karin Johnson, is the Elections Officer for the City of Independence. Please contact Ms. Johnson at 503.837.1172 or via email at for additional information. Candidate packets will be available June 3, 2024, at City Hall or on the city’s website, at: